CBF125 Service Data Sheets

To save myself leafing through pages and pages of workshop manuals, I’ve put some of the most useful information needed when servicing the bike together in the form of these ‘cheat’ sheets. Hopefully these will make things easier, such as when you’re going around the bike tightening up various fasteners to their specified torque settings. The check-list can also be used as part of keeping an accurate, detailed service history on the bike. No more need to rifle through the pages of a service manual. Please note that this information is to supplement that found in the owner’s and workshop manuals and should be used in conjunction with them. Enjoy!

  • CBF125 Specifications – Full listing of the most important specifications for the CBF125, including bulbs, fluid types/quantities, etc. Print it and fill in the specifics for your bike (frame number etc).
  • CBF125 Chassis Torque Settings – The most important chassis fasteners to check tightness of every 5’000 miles.
  • CBF125 Service Check-list – Print this and use it to keep a comprehensive service history, whilst doing things in the most efficient order.
20 thoughts on “CBF125 Service Data Sheets

      • Honda have used centrifugal oil filters before, and most of them never ever get looked at. For instance I had a CG125 that was sold still running at 44k and the centrifugal oil filter was untouched. My current 1993 CB250 is at 60k and the centrifugal filter is untouched. I belong to a CB250 users group and the consensus is to not worry about them. We know of one CB250 machine that was sold still running at 100k. Regular oil changes seems to be the only really important factor for longevity. It’ll be interesting to see what you find.

      • Hey Les,

        Thanks for this info. Indeed, I never touched the centrifugal filter on the YBR in nearly 40’000 miles, only checked the oil strainer in the sump once at 38’000 miles and it was clean.

        More interestingly, I carried out the 7’500 mile service today and took the engine cover off to inspect and clean the filters. I’ll be doing a full write up with pictures soon, but suffice to say, the strainer was surprisingly quite dirty but I’ll probably never know the state of the centrifugal oil filter because the screws holding its cover on were too tight to undo. Too tight even with an impact driver, where the screwdriver bit actually snapped inside the tool! I guess it’ll be sealed for the life of the engine then…

        The paper gasket used was also a pain to scrape off the clutch cover. It took careful use of a Stanley blade and much patience from my poor friend who elected to take on the arduous task.

        Overall, worth doing even if you only get to clean the strainer, as, even with regular oil changes, it seems to get surprisingly dirty.

  1. You’re an absolute diamond!

    Just a quick question though, I am of the understanding that if I service my (recent purchased) CBF myself that I invalidate the warranty due to not being an authorised service mechanic, is this correct?

    • No you won’t. I was told by the dealer I purchased this bike from that as long as I did it properly and used Honda parts, there’s no problem. Also, if something did go wrong, it would need to be linked to something you did.

  2. Thinking of getting either the CBF or CBR next month to replace PCX – all 2011 models.

    From what I have read (please correct me if I am wrong) all three are more or less the same engine just tweaked for the three different setups…

    CBR is winning my heart in terms of style but I am finding it impossible to obtain a workshop manual. Wemoto don’t appear to have it listed whereas PCX manuals and diagrams were easy to obtain. Do you have any suggestions?

    Other than price point, can you see any benefits to the CBF over the CBR, again 2011 models only…

    • The CBR engine is different – it’s liquid cooled and has a different power output etc. The CBF is a ‘learner commuter’ type bike, built to be cheap to run and easy to work on etc, whereas the CBR is also learner legal, it’s targeted more at people who want the looks of a sports bike. For me that means more fairing panels to get in the way, which are also very expensive if you scratch/damage them, possibly higher insurance costs, a liquid cooling system to add to the servicing list etc. Depends if you want economy and simplicity over sporty looks and possibly slightly better performance (it won’t be much as learner legal 125’s have to stick to some stringent limits). The build quality of the CBR may be better, especially if it’s not manufactured in India by Hero Honda (which is the case with the CBF). I’m sorry I don’t really know enough about the PCX to comment about it.

      • Thanks for your input on the matter. Honda list the 3 engines as:
        PCX: 4-stroke 2-valve SOHC with built-in liquid cooling
        CBF: Air-cooled 4-stroke 2-valve OHC single
        CBR: Liquid-cooled 4-stroke 2-valve SOHC single

        For sure the PCX is a nimble and sporty automatic; handling is far more similar to a geared 125 than a natty scooter. However it is at the end of the day automatic, so you’re sitting upright which for some, like myself, is uncomfortable compared to the seating position on CBF and CBR.

        Price wise you are absolutely right, CBF is more appealing than CBR. But that is where I am stuck between a rock and a hard place. I would like to get a good sports 125 (i.e. CBR) so that I can look after it and eventually pass it on to my children. On the other hand, I am quite keen to move swiftly on to 250cc so that I can do some touring of the UK. I know I could tour on a 125 but…

        Love your website/blog by the way, very informative and helpful!

  3. Hi, very useful information. However from manual I understand that I need to replace oil every 600 miles. Is it correct? I don’t see it in your service check list.

    • You’re partially correct – the first oil change is at 600 miles, then the second is at 2’500 miles, third at 5’000 miles and every further 2’500 miles for the lifetime of the bike. Although, some people like to change the oil more frequently, say every 1’250 miles. There’s absolutely no harm at all in doing that apart from the harm to your wallet!

  4. Pingback: CBF125オーナーが降臨する!!また、細かな情報もちらほらと!!

Leave a Reply

