Diesel, crash and sparks – ouch!

Ouch indeed… Crashed on the A13 on Tuesday (the 13th, strangely enough) – suddenly lost all control of the front whilst going straight on, travelling at around 40-50mph. The stink of diesel on the roads was immense, but I couldn’t see any at that point. Just before, I had been trying to avoid a mile-long slick in the middle of the left lane that I could just about make out – visibility was poor because of the heavy rain. Suffice to say, the driver of whatever vehicle was responsible is not on my ‘most popular’ list at the moment. Enjoy the video…

A very helpful chap stopped and stayed with me also phoning for help (my phone was destroyed), thank you so much whoever you are. Ambulance and police attended, I was breathalised as stadard procedure, bit of friendly banter with the police, who were very helpful moving the bike somewhere safe whilst the ambulance crew checked me out. Afterwards I stumbled into a local hotel to use the phone to call for breakdown assistance (the HondaCare 2 year breakdown cover which you get with a new bike, luckily covers accidents, woohoo!). The staff were so friendly and comforting, offering free cups of coffee. If anything, this has really restored my faith in h[umanity.

Damage to bike: Left footpeg bent/broken, gear shifter linkage snapped, pedal bent, indicators bent/bulb blown, handlebar bent, centre stand left leg bent. Nothing else that I can tell of right now, so not too bad!

Damage to me: Very small graze on my left arm, just below the elbow, sore left arm and shoulder, nothing broken, but will be stiff for a few days. Moral of the story is – always wear your gear! I had an armoured textile jacket, trousers, gloves and boots on, as well as my rain oversuit, which was torn to shreds. Rather that than my skin and flesh!

Now I’m just waiting for parts, has cost me around £80 to get the bits to make it roadworthy again, but that doesn’t include the centre stand and replacement indicators as they’re a bit on the wobbly side now, but not that bad… Still cheap as chips, when you consider what it’d cost on a larger bike, or car with a garage doing the work! This is one reason why I chose the CBF, after all.

Ride safe everyone, especially at this time of year.

20 thoughts on “Diesel, crash and sparks – ouch!

  1. Hope your ok, biking in winter is a real hazzard! Shame you cant find the idiot responsible.
    Safe travels when your mobile again.
    Regards
    Susan

    • Hey Susan,

      Thanks for your message.

      Yep, one of many hazards we have to deal with every day… Hope to be back to work next week, waiting for parts to arrive to the bike can be back on the road. The amount of damage was surprisingly low considering what happened!

    • Hi Robert,

      Thank you for the reply.

      I completely agree, I swear the amount of diesel on the roads has just been going up and up lately. You’d think with the way the economy is, people would be trying to save as much as possible.

      It’s not only bikes that fall foul – I’ve had drivers say how they’ve completely lost grip on corners covered in diesel as well. Could do with a THINK campaign about it.

      Stay safe… we’ve still got the rest of winter to get through!

      • on the a13 went through a wet patch only to find it was diesel- the back wheel spun out. a week alter the same thing. tried to inform the motorways people – try phoning them – not good

  2. Yeah, the CBF are fairly durable.

    Came off mine about 3 weeks ago in a retail park.

    Approaching a blind right hand corner when some street racer comes flying round half way into my lane!

    I swerve to the left and jab the front brake locking the wheel on the wet road, came off about 35-40 slid past him/her as they sped away.

    My bike was fine just wouldn’t start for the next 15 minutes otherwise I would of been after them!

    Always gotta be on the lookout.

    Unfortunately that was one accident too many I for my CBF, a few weeks later the rear sprocket went as I was driving home, so I bought a new one.

    Hope your not too shook up, It all pays off in the summer 🙂
    Regards, Scootaloo

    • Rear sprocket broke? Due to being weakened in an accident? I recognise your name from BCF, isn’t your CBF pretty new as well? Frustrating when you crash a new bike… especially when it’s down to someone else’s actions – if you got their plate, you could well claim. Easy to say now when you’re not picking yourself up off the floor though!

      • No, the new one has not been dropped (thank Jehovah).

        The old one was the one I came off. Unfortunately I did not catch the licence plate. And believe me it was the third thought in my mind after I came off:
        1st – Am I damaged (quickly checked by foolishly standing up)
        2nd – Pick the bike up! (The oil runs out when its on its side)
        3rd – Go after that f***er (my bike failed to start, otherwise…)

        all this happened in under a minute. (it happens so fast)

        One minute your riding along all dandy, then bamm. All I can say is:
        Thank GOD for gear! A small Part of my side that was exposed got some road rash but my Kevlar jeans left my legs with with just a few bruises, It makes the difference.

        The bike was never the same after that, and a few weeks later after a few more minor faults the sprocket went and that’s when I decided to buy a new one.

        How is your bike? feel any different to ride after the incident?

        All the best, Scoot

  3. Sorry to hear about your accident. Hope you get well soon and it doesn’t spoil an excellent christmas for you.
    Makes me think I ought to get some padded textile trousers. I thought about getting the matching trousers when I purchased my jacket, but didn’t. I’m not a bike commuter (yet) so only ride for pleasure on dry days. Looks like the wet and the diesel both caused the accident but also helped you slide to a (slightly) more gradual halt – reducing injury severity
    Best wishes.

    • Do get the gear if you can afford it – it doesn’t matter how far you ride or how much – a crash is always going to be a crash no matter the circumstances, and abrasion will be worse if it’s dry! My textile jacket now has a rip in the left arm near the elbow, it’s not big and I can’t afford new kit for a while so I’m going to have to keep riding with it for now. My trousers are okay apart from the flies zip failing a long time ago. The armour isn’t what it used to be either but it’s better than nothing and my legs weren’t hurt at all in this crash. I’m still waiting on my insurance payout for the YBR accident (and I’m still wearing the same kit since then as well – now survived two crashes!!! Gloves and boots are still fine as is my helmet, which didn’t touch the floor either time, but I do have a spare). I’m eyeing up this little beauty: http://www.ghostbikes.com/products/On-Road-Gear-Motorcycle-Jackets/1647-spada-system-suit-motorcycle-oversuit.html

  4. Unlucky mate, the main thing is you’re alright. I’ve had a few tail end wobbles on greasy patches when going slowly round junctions etc, but been fortunate enough never to have the front end go – must have scared the life out of you! I spent nearly £500 on my safety clothing, it just goes to show why it’s money well spent. Hope the cuts and bruises you did get heal quick and you’re back on the bike soon

    Martin

    • Thanks Martin, I hope your riding experiences are going well for you! Having the front go is probably the worst thing that can happen as you have next to no chance of recovering it… My jacket and trousers cost about £200, but are very tired after nearly 4 years of constant use, nearly 50’000 miles of riding, all weathers and my expanding waist-line!

      Already replaced the broken foot rest and gear-shift linkage. Feels really good as well, almost therapeutic, like it’s part of the healing process. Just got a few more parts in the post, handlebars, clutch lever and indicator bulbs, then I can ride again.

  5. Sorry to hear you had an accident, i had similar exiting over the handle bars superman style but mine was due to a van just stopping unexpectedly in the carrigeway. Naturally it was throwing it down with rain and going down hill i hit the brakes front end lost grip then went over the top travelling about 40mph! I was suprised i got away with minimal damge to bike bent break pedal broken indicator , slightly bent the handle bars along with very dented pride & a lot of bruises. Incidently the van that caused my emergency stop did a u turn in the road in front of me and drove off never even acknowledged me laying in the road!! To be honest it really shook my confidence and the damage to my visor was very sobering if i had a open faced helmet i would have sanded my nose and chin off i think!!

    I am sure you will have it fixed in no time, get back riding soon!

    Mark

  6. I’m sorry about your accident, hope you are fine now. But, about your tires, do you have the original TVS (difficult to use when it’s raining), or another ones (Continental, Michelin) ? If you have the TVS, you should consider to change them, I think…

    • Hi Manu,

      The bike came with Conti-Go!’s, which I made sure of! Wouldn’t go near TVS . Also had bad experiences with stock tyres on the 2005 YBR – Cheng Shin. Very poor grip. I switched to Pirelli City Demons and later Michelin Pilot Sportys on the YBR, which were the best tyre I’ve ever tried.

  7. Sorry to see you had a accident, but glad to see were lucky enough to walk away. Are you back on the road yet? I travel the A13 but join closer by Lakeside, on a white CBF125, with L’s so may see you sometime (work shifts) whilst trying hard not to be blown away on the marshes.

    i read that you have muffs on your bars, how did they affect you in the off and will you keep them/how do you find them for the commute?

  8. Sorry to see you had an accident. I do have the same bike and had more or less the same accident braking in rain on diesel :@
    I already had an appointment with my mechanic to change the bloody TVS-tires just one week later…it seemed to be one week too late…
    My bike took a big hit, the handlebar was completely destroyed, it only costed me 30€ to replace that, but it seems almost to be made out of plastic 🙂
    Luckily I was wearing all my gear and I didn’t have any physical damage: now I wear it all the time, even if it’s just for 5 miles.
    Still I think with heavy wind/rain/snow this is not the ideal bike to travel long distances…
    I just bought a 91 transalp for that 😉

    Take care

  9. Hi,
    I’ve just found this site. Congratulations it’s a great source of information and inspiration.
    I’ve got a ’10 plate and have recently fallen foul to a non licence holder turning right at an island from the left lane. In the wet with the TVS tyres I didn’t stand a chance !
    Anyway my handlebars took the brunt and are now bent. I’ve tried to remove the bar ends in preparation for getting some new bars however the whole bar end turns with the screw and will not come out. Any idea’s, what parts did you use to repair your bars ?

    • You have to grip the weight VERY tightly whilst you unscrew it. I used rubber gloves. The screw is thread-locked as well, but once you crack it free, it will come out with no trouble. I replaced my handlebar with a pattern one, which didn’t need the inner bar weights (you just screw the outer weights directly in), so I sold them. The switchgear and everything else lined up just fine.

Leave a Reply

