All good things…

And so a chapter ends in the story of this little motorcycle. It’s time for it to move on. 31,000 miles and counting…

After moving home and work sites at the same time last year, my commuting needs changed. In the battle of bike vs train, the train won the upper hand. This time.

It’s goodbye to cold winters, slippery diesel covered roads, near misses, lying drivers who force you through lengthy court battles, weekends spent spannering rather than with the kids…. All the things that make an otherwise fantastically fun and enjoyable pursuit a misery.

I hope to get back into riding in the years to come, but for pleasure rather than the necessity of needing a cheap method of transport and all the challenges that brings with it. Right now I have a family to nurture.

So my journey is over for now and the CBF will be sold (if you’re interested, give me a shout on here!). It’s a tired little bike now and needs some TLC as well as tax and an MOT. I’m sure it’ll have many more miles left in it if it ends up in the right hands.

As for this blog, I never thought it would have kindled such a following as it has. Thank you to each and every one of you who have contributed to it by commenting or just reading through. It’ll remain here as long as WordPress.com will host it and I’ll continue to reply to comments when I can.

As for the future, who knows? It’s been fun, but I’m sure there’s plenty of fun left to have…

Peace and good wishes to you all.

IMG_0530.JPG

12 thoughts on “All good things…”

  1. it is a sad day but i can see where you are coming from,look after yourself and the growing family and all the best to you all,i am sure you will be back in no time and tonybigt will still be here ,just give me a shout.all the best.
    tonybigt

  2. Thanks for this blog, its been a valuable resource. It had an influence when deciding to purchase my own CBF125 as it gave a good insight into the maintenance work required. You have a lot of good information here and some of your guides are better than the Haynes. Good luck to you, I wonder how long it’ll be until the motorbike itch will strike again!!

  3. As i read this i have been a CBF 125 owner for 2 days 🙂
    I bought a new 2014 model from my local Honda dealer and so far i love it (first bike)
    I am using it to commute to work daily and also for social stuff.
    Sad to see your ending the blog just as i start my journey, but good luck 🙂

  4. Wow I’ve only just started reading this

    Just as you get rid of yours I’m looking to pick mine up In September

    This blog is going to be worth it’s weight in gold to me it’s been many years since I’ve been on a bike and the cbf seemed to be a good choice

    I’m looking forward to many miles of fun motoring on this bike and your blog is going to help me majorly in getting those miles

    Thank you

  5. Another one here who was influenced by your blog and bought a CBF back in June. Just logging on as I’m about to go and fit a fuel filter.
    Enjoy your family (they all too soon grow up!) and good luck with all your future endeavours.
    James

  6. New biker here, recently purchased a CBF125, and find this blog so handy! However my bike seems to have developed an issue such as you did with your fuel pump. Currently testing the pressures from the pump and I’m reading 1.3bar…..is this good or bad? Does anyone know these values? Or if you guys have a Haynes manual to check these? Im looking to buy a haynes manual but not sure if this information is in there?

    Matt

  7. Dear Sir, i’m 52 years old and my family has grown up,i have bought a second hand CBF125 model 2012 last august with only 2000Km (1242 miles) on the counter, now it’s september and it has already 3000Km (1864 miles). It was your blog that influenced me to get back on to a motorcycle again. It’s been from the age of 23 that I’ve been on a bike when i had a Suzuki AC50 back here in Belgium and the cbf 125 seemed to be a good choice and it is a verry good choise that i have taken, and i also hope that WordPress will host the blog for some time because i have still a lot to learn about the bike.

    Good luck, have a good and healthy life with your family and thank you for the blog.
    Merry Christmas and a happy 2015

  8. Fantastic Blog.

    Some great advice that I wish I’d found sooner. My CBF125 must go soon as well (and with a similar mileage), but in exchange for bigger and better.

    Hope you are back on two wheels at some point

    Good luck for the future.

  9. know how you feel – just started a job in the city (london) so its back to a 30 mile a day hack through the traffic – the train costs 200 quid a month – the cbf costs 20 quid. But rightly as you say its a misery. I not talking being frightened – i am talking getting nearly killed by a woman in a rangerover. On a wet morning with the leaves on the roads its all the radar up all the time. The bike is nearly at 17000 miles. Runs fine but have no doubt its a venerable london hack with the scars of 6 crashs/drops. Will be getting the new kawasaki 250 – a bit heavier but its got 25 hp. Do i want to sell the cbf – not really – dont need the money – and its the perfect bike for nairobi. But on a sunny morning carving thro the traffic leaving r1’s standing at the lights hearing the engine reving like its going to break – yes – thanks honda for a great motorbike !

Leave a comment