I’m still here!

Just a quick note to say I’m still around, alas, bike-less. It’s great to see the blog still receiving lots of traffic, with plenty of comments and discussions flowing through it!

Thank you everyone for your continued readership and support. I sincerely hope that you’re all enjoying your CBFs! I’d be especially interested to know if anyone is riding the newer CB125F. It’s a lot more ‘naked’, have a look:

cb125f

Reminds me of Yamaha’s YBR125 a bit (apart from the headlight).

Stay safe over winter folks, watch out for naughty motorists, the blindingly low sun, ice, diesel, leaves, slippery man-hole covers and all the other nasties you get at this time of year! Spring will come…

Ride safe.

6 thoughts on “I’m still here!

  1. I have the slightly earlier 2014 model with a tiny and pointless screen. Love the bike and the reviews are better than this one. They cut costs on the tyres, the conti’s are gone. The suspension is softer so to dips more under breaking and lifts on acceleration and there is more vibration at speed. It’s still a great bike but I went for a late bike in the previous version as its better thought of.

    Still loving the 125mpg πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

    • I get 135MPG if I stick it at 50mph, keep revs mega low and change up and down at ease! Like a female if you are nice to them then that are nice to you!πŸ˜‰anyway dudes mines a 12 plate one and now now done 34000 miles.. It’s only had a 500 mile service and new tyres twice in its life bless it! πŸ˜₯πŸ˜₯πŸ˜₯πŸ˜«πŸ˜«πŸ˜«πŸ˜«πŸ˜“πŸ˜“πŸ˜“last rear tyre was a CONTI and I got 13000 miles out of it! Epppppppppppppppiccccc I say! Must get it serviced tho really… Just being cruel really.. Witching it’s 34000 miles of use its had 1ltr of oil put in so not bad little motors really.. Oh yes and the battery is the original! This has totally amazed me! Having a new one in March.. Keeping this one tho cos of the time we be spent togetherπŸ˜“kinda sentimental thing.. Mad I know but well I lol just retire her to the shed and strike her up once a month.. I ve named her ‘the flea’ lol cos that’s what she is compared to my bigger bike! Happy cbf’ing everyone! Have a nice day nowπŸ˜‰βœ‹βœ‹βœ‹βœ‹

  2. Just about to buy my first bike, and looking at either a new CBF125 or a new YBR125 (or maybe even a used YBR125). Both seem like excellent bikes, but I think I prefer the looks of hte CBR125. I’m curious whether the new model has had the electrical system improved so its not running lights off the AC feed (Yamaha appears to be DC as they offer first-party LED Indicators). Also curious whether either bike has a fuel filter. I admit I’m not the most knowledgable about bikes, and I’m learning as I go along, but any answers, feedback, advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

    Tristan

    • Not sure if the lights still run from the alternator on newer modules. Just a little nugget of trivia for you – they run on pulsed, or half-rectified negative regulated DC, not AC, only taking the negative swing of the AC waveform. Straight from the stator and through the voltage regulator/rectifier. It’s not that good for bulbs (constant heating and cooling as the voltage fluctuates) and LEDs have a really hard time, but I never found it to be a major issue.

      • Get the CBf m8 over the other 2.. Cheaper insurance and better economyπŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

      • I have had my CBF coming up 2 1/2 years and its a beautiful bike still, apart from road muck and a few war wounds (bloody winter) but i have rode a YBR before and i just didnt feel right. I used to ride down to colchester from norwich on my CBF regularly and it worked a treat the only issue i majorly had was the fuel pump. I would pick the CBF over the YBR, but as always have a look at both sit on them, a little ride round the forcourt and see which oen suits you better πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

